Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Slowing Down, Looking Closer, and the State of the American Mind

The clip above is from my new series on the excellent 2015 book The State of the American Mind by Mark Bauerlein and Adam Bellow. I’ve built a course where we walk through the book together, discuss follow-up questions, and explore discussion/writing activities for students.

This course is free to join starting next Monday, the 16th, and will be available through the 20th.

I first designed this course for my university students where I taught for many years. But these ideas are accessible for high schoolers who are good readers and thinkers as well. This is a great opportunity for parents to sit side-by-side with their kids, or teachers to lead their classes, to try to figure out how we might reclaim our intellectual culture and begin imagining what a unified “American Mind” might be.

Since we are reading together, you’ll need the text.

There are a few options to access the book…

Subscribe to read it online at https://archive.org/details/stateofamericanm0000unse/page/n281/mode/2up.

Purchase for just a few bucks on Amazon at https://shorturl.at/Gu7SS.

Or, as I first read it, pick it up from your local library.

Hope to see you in our free community on the 16th. Subscribe to this Substack, and I’ll send you the link to get started.

Enjoy!

English CHAMPION is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast